The PHANTOM of the OPERA

by Andrew Lloyd Webber
print this page  |  back

(Arranged for a mixed choire Peer 16108)

Paris 1881, a horrible disfigured being wearing a mask inhabits the catacombs the Paris Opera House. A controlling and tyrannical stranger who spreads fear and horror among the visitors and workers of the Opera. The soprano Christine who through the Phantom's help gains recognition and his devotion. But when she falls in love with the Vicomte de Chagny, Raoul, the Phanthom reacts agressively and puts Christine infront of a devastating and faithful decision....

Love, Jealousy, Revenge and Popularity are the keywords in the creation of successful thearetical writing. Andrew Lloyd Webber used all his composing ability to create "The Phanthom of the Opera" and thus influenced over 60 Million people to view it. Not only the Music, Stageshow, Costumes or Actors, but the whole production is perfectly pieced together. For both, Sopraos and Musicians, hard work is the keyword in this extravagant production.

Andrew Lloyd Webber released "The Phanthom of the Opera" in 1986. The performances in New York and London were great successes. In Hamburg the "Neue Flora" was rebuilt especially the hold the German version of the "Phantom". The last performance of the play in Hamburg was on the 30/06/2001. Since November 2002 the play and be heared in Stuttgard.

Andrew Lloyd Webber is a major steakholder in "The Really Useful Group", a major establishment that focuses mainly on the distribution of his works and products. And the list of products is rather extensive: From musical notes, cofee cups, underwear to bedsheets - for dreamlike nights with the man in the mask - for the most unbelieveable product to gape at is the protrait of the play.

My release for the mixed choire includes the four most famous pieces from the Opera:

THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA
THE MUSIC OF THE NIGHT
ALL I ASK OF YOU
WISHING YOU WERE SOMEHOW HERE AGAIN

The Sentences are released a-capella. Due to stylistic reasons I have left out the accord symbols for background instruments. The word representations used were from Charles Hart, Richard Stilgoe and Mike Batt. The german text was written by Dr. Michael Kunze.

"The PHANTOM of the OPERA" for mixed choire has since 1991 become one of the most favoured releases in germany and is currently in its fifth edition of printing.


© www.paulsen-bahnsen.de

The PHANTOM of the OPERA

von Andrew Lloyd Webber
Diese Seite drucken  |  Zurück zum Verzeichnis

(Arrangement für gemischten Chor Peer 16108)

Paris 1881, eine schrecklich entstellte männliche Gestalt lebt in den Katakomben der Pariser Oper, das Gesicht stets mit einer Maske bedeckend. Ein befehlender und tyrannisierender Unbekannter, der in dem Sangestempel Angst und Schrecken verbreitet. Einzig die schöne Sängerin Christine, die durch das Phantom zum gefeierten Star der Pariser Oper wird, gewinnt seine Gunst. Als sie sich aber in Raoul, dem Vicomte de Chagny, verliebt, rastet das Phantom aus - und stellt Christine vor eine schicksalsvolle Entscheidung ...

Liebe, Eifersucht, Rache und Ruhm - das sind die Stoffe, aus denen man Erfolge macht. Im "Phantom der Oper" zieht Andrew Lloyd Webber alle Register seines kompositorischen Könnens und begeisterte damit bisher über 60 Millionen Menschen. Nicht nur die geniale Musik, auch Bühnenbild, Kostüme, Darsteller - es passt einfach alles grandios zusammen. Die Sängerinnen müssen Höchstleistungen bringen und auch im Orchestergraben ist harte Arbeit angesagt.

Andrew Lloyd Webber veröffentlichte das Musical "The PHANTOM of the OPERA" 1986. Die New Yorker und die Londoner Aufführungen waren richtungsweisend. In Hamburg wurde für die deutsche Fassung des Werkes mit der "Neuen Flora" extra ein geeignetes Konzertforum gebaut. Am 30.06.2001 fiel in Hamburg der letzte Vorhang. Seit November 2002 ist das "Phantom der Oper" in Stuttgart zu hören.

Mit "The Really Useful Group" ist Andrew Lloyd Webber Mitinhaber eines riesigen Unternehmens, das sich ausschließlich um die Vermarktung seiner Werke kümmert. Und das Angebot nur beim "Phantom der Oper" ist schon enorm: von Noten, Kaffeetassen, Unterhosen bis zur Bettwäsche für traumreiche Nächte vom Mann mit der Maske - auf den unglaublichsten Artikeln ist das Konterfei der weißen Maske mit der roten Rose zu bestaunen.

Meine Ausgabe für gemischten Chor beinhaltet die 4 bekanntesten Titel des Musicals:

THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA
THE MUSIC OF THE NIGHT
ALL I ASK OF YOU
WISHING YOU WERE SOMEHOW HERE AGAIN

Die Sätze sind a-cappella gesetzt. Aus stilistischen Gründen habe ich bei dieser Bearbeitung auf Akkordsymbole für Begleitinstrumente verzichtet. Als Textvorlage dienten der englische Text von Charles Hart bzw. Richard Stilgoe und Mike Batt. Den deutschen Text schrieb Dr. Michael Kunze .

"The PHANTOM of the OPERA" für gemischten Chor ist seit 1991 eine der beliebtesten Ausgaben in Deutschland geworden und befindet sich inzwischen in der 5. Auflage.


© www.paulsen-bahnsen.de